There are no translations available.

Hvar Stellar Meeting 2023Variable and Binary Stars in the Era of Big Data and NewInstrumentation18 - 22 September 2023, Hvar, Croatia



Hvar Astronomical Observatory was originally built as a collaborative project of - at that time Yugoslav and Czechoslovak - astronomical institutions.

The Cassegrain 0.65 m reflector, constructed by Pavel Mayer from the Astronomical Institute of Charles University and equipped with a single-channel photoelectric photometer and the Johnson UBV filters was installed there in the summer of 1972 and the observations with this instrument started on July 29, 1972 and have continued up to the present time. The main observing program was focused on Be stars, however also selected binaries and CP stars were observed there.

In September 2023 it will be forty years since the international Workshop on rapid variability of early-type stars was held at Hvar.

Both the above-mentioned anniversaries inspired us to the idea to repeat a similar workshop exactly after forty years, at the same conference place and with the old and new friends. This time, the workshop is intended to reflect the contemporary era of large ground-based an space surveys. To preserve the working atmosphere of the meeting, we intend to invite only participants approved by the members of the Scientific Organizing Committee and limit the number of participants to 60 persons.

The conference is organised jointly by Astronomical Institute of Charles University, Prague, Czech Republic and Hvar Observatory, Faculty of Geodesy, University of Zagreb, Croatia

Programme Abstract book (pdf) Registration Travel and accommodation

CONFERENCE MEETING PLACE

Hotel Amfora - Hvar Grand Beach Resort, City of Hvar, Hvar, Croatia

IMPORTANT DATES

Deadline for abstract submisseptember 2023 Deadline for late abstract subseptember 2023 Deadline for registration & pageptember 2023

REGISTRATION FEE

	Until 4 Sept.	Late (from 5 Sept.)
Regular	250 EUR	400 EUR
Student	180 EUR	230 EUR
Accompanying person	50 EUR	

Registrations will be made online through the conference registration system. Attendees can pay immediately using their credit card or <u>PayPal</u>, or choose to pay by bank transfer. The entire payment and registration process is easy to use, secure and can be completed in a few minutes.

If the bank transfer method is chosen the Proforma invoice will be sent to the provided e-mail address. When paying please provide under the 'purpose' the name of the person for which the fee is payed so the payment can be identified.

All prices are indicated with VAT and VAT is calculated according to a special procedure of taxation of travel agencies in accordance with the provisions of Article 91 of the VAT Law. All payments must be made in **Euro (EUR)**.

The student registration fee applies to students (Bsc, Msc, PhD).

The fee for accompanying person includes the social program of the conference (Welcome reception and Reminiscences of Hvar 1983 workshop).

Cancellation policy - in the case of cancellation of the registration 90% of the payed fee wil be reimbursed.

TOPICS / SESSIONS

- Early-type stars
- Binaries and multiple systems
- Classical pulsating stars

- Astroseismology

SCIENTIFIC ORGANIZING COMMITTEE Co-chairs:

Ed Guinan (Villanova University, USA) Petr Harmanec (Charles University, Prague, CZ) Petr Zasche (Charles University, Prague, CZ)

Members:

Jesús Maíz Apellániz (CAB, CSIC-INTA, Spain) Denis Mourard (Obs. Côte d'Azur, Nice, France) Yael Naze (Universite de Liege, Belgium) Domagoj Ruždjak (Hvar **OtsajiZ**agreb, Croatia) Domagoj Ruždjak (Hvar Obs.)

Members: Hrvoje Božić (Hvar Obs.) Jaša Čalogović (Hvar Obs.) Alžběta Oplištilová (Charles Uni.) Karmen Martinić (Hvar Obs.) Toni Visković (Hvar Obs.)

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS (tentative, updated 3 May 2023)

An asterisk (

) denote participants of the Hvar 1983 workshop

AERTS Conny invited speaker * BAADE Dietrich invited speaker BARLOW Brad invited speaker BOŽIĆ Hrvoje invited speaker BROŽ Miroslav invited speaker CHINI Rolf EYER Laurent invited speaker * HARMANEC Petr co-chair of the SOC HOLGADO Gonzalo JONÁK Juraj KOVARI Zsolt KUBATOVÁ Brankica LABADIE BARTZ Jonathan MAÍZ APELLÁNIZ Jesus a SOC member, invited speaker

MEILLAND Anthony MOURARD Denis a SOC member, invited speaker **NINKOV** Zoran OLÁH Katalin OPLIŠTILOVÁ Alžběta PhD student PANTALEONI Michelangelo PIETRZYNSKI Gregor, invited speaker PIGULSKI Andrzej PRŠA Andrej invited speaker **RIBEIRO** Jose ROSU Sophie RUŽDJAK Domagoj chair of the LOC and a SOC member ŠVRČKOVÁ Jana WAELKENS Christopher WANG Lugian WEISS Werner W. YANG Stephenson ZASCHE Petr co-chair of the SOC, invited speaker ZUMMER Michal undegraduate student Special guests over ZOOM: GUINAN Edward F. co-chair of the SOC, Introductory speaker PERCY J.R. MAITZEN Hans Michael NAZÉ Yaël, SOC member WALKER G.A.H.